Bassnectar – Divergent Spectrum LP and “Above & Beyond” Promo!

Posted by on August 2, 2011

The Day has finally arrived, Divergent Spectrum is here. Bassnectar really out did himself with this. Every track gives you a different taste of the music spectrum, but with some bass mixed in of course. I made sure to have listened to the entire LP before this post and the one word I’d use to sum this up is ‘art.’ By that I mean this album really is a work of art, just by the fact that Bassnectar managed to incorporate many different styles of music flawlessly. My top choices would be Plugged In Remix, Lights Remix (naturally), The Matrix, Voodoo, and Paging Stereophonic. Despite my choices it is really hard to not include the rest of the album on that list. If you like electronic music, you will love this.

Pick up the new album now on iTunes or at

The Bassnectar family also gave us the fans a gift, a free download of “Above & Beyond.” Previously known as Shakes and releasing under SPL’s Hollow Point Label, Seth Drake is the latest addition to the Amorphous Music Team. The track is epic and definitely one of the better tracks on the album.

PROMO DOWNLOAD: Bassnectar & Seth Drake – Above & Beyond

HIt more for the Divergent Spectrum Track Listing

1. Upside Down

2. Rollz “Plugged in (Bassnectar Remix)”

3. Gogol Bordello “Immigraniada (Bassnectar Remix)”

4. Boomerang

5. Ellie Goulding “Lights (Bassnectar Remix)”

6. Probable Cause (feat. ill.Gates)

7. Red Step (feat. Jantsen)

8. The Matrix

9. Voodoo

10. Heads Up [2011 Version]

11. Paging Stereophonic

12. Above & Beyond (feat. Seth Drake)

13. Parade into Centuries [2011 Version]

14. After Thought

15. Disintegration Part IV

Click More To See What The Bassnectar Family Had To Say About The Album

From Amorphous Music comes a new Bassnectar concept album: Divergent Spectrum, a powerful release that displays the artist’s disregard for convention and ability to design sound as if brushing samples and beats onto a reckless canvas, bursting from dark to light, heavy to soft, and tender to fierce.

Showcasing the sound that has provided a path for many music lovers into the international electronic music community, the 15-track Divergent Spectrum breaks open to reveal elements of drum-and-bass, dubstep, punk, hip-hop, death metal, abstract ambient, trip hop and a wide-minded aesthetic, all cranked up and outfitted with an influx of booming bass.

Inspired by the colorful yet confusing dualities inherent in human existence, Divergent Spectrum launches with “Upside Down,” greeting the listener with a classic Bassnectar anthem. Ellie Goulding, Rollz, and Gogol Bordello all get the remix treatment to magnificent effect, while “Red Step” provides a blip-heavy groove alongside window-shaking low end; another innovative product of Bassnectar’s continual collaborations with fellow producer Jantsen. “The Matrix” and “Paging Stereophonic” are dance floor scorchers, the soaring remix of “Parade Into Centuries” takes the album on a melodic spiral downward, and “After Thought” and “Disintegration Part IV” gently finish the experience in a reflective pool of sound.

A chromatic exhibition of Bassnectar’s continuing contributions to the evolution of electronic music and dance culture, Divergent Spectrum delivers both nostalgic moments and aural innovation to a worldwide fan base that desires the beautiful and the bestial in the same breath.

Tags: , , , , , , ,